Bronxville, NY Village dignitaries joined Houlihan Lawrence executives recently for the presentation of a plaque commemorating the 2016 Bronxville Historical Conservancy Preservation Award, presented to the firm in recognition of its recent restoration of the building. Among those attending the event from Houlihan Lawrence were CEO Stephen Meyers, brokerage manager Cynthia Landis and director of corporate administration Annette Carpino. Representing the village was Bronxville mayor Mary Marvin and village historian Ray Geselbracht.
Attending from the Bronxville Historical Conservancy were co-chair Jack Bierwirth; co-chair and chair of the Preservation Award Committee Erin Saluti; board member and architect Anderson Kenny, who is a member of the Preservation Award Committee and who designed the plaque; co-founders Marilynn Hill and Bob Riggs; board members Judy Foley, Irena Choi Stern, Nancy Vittorini, Tom Welling; and Treasurer Bill Zambelli.
Former Houlihan Lawrence Chairman Nancy Seaman led the historically-accurate renovation of the structure, enlisting the help of Bronxville architect Dean Davis. The work included replacing the roof with a blend of new matching slate and the original slate; replacing all flashings as well as the gutters and leaders with copper; replacing all shutters and hardware; repointing, patching and painting the exterior brick and stucco walls; making the main entry door on the lower level handicap-accessible; and adding overhangs to three of the building’s entry doors for weather protection.
While the building interior layout was generally unaltered, it was upgraded with increased insulation, efficient lighting and new mechanical systems. Original woodwork and walls were replaced with energy-efficient windows that match the original in size and pattern. A major structural flaw causing the floors to sag was corrected with the installation of a steel beam and columns. The entire lower level’s wood floors were removed and replaced on a new concrete slab, which stopped the moisture infiltration that caused the decay and rot of the original floor.
4 Valley Rd. is a testament to the historic and cultural contributions of both the Lawrence family and their still-thriving real estate empire. The core of the structure is the original Prescott Farm Gate Lodge, a simple structure built by James Minot Prescott sometime around 1845. When the gates to Prescott Farm became the gates to Lawrence Park, the lodge was naturally positioned as a sales office for Lawrence’s progressive development. Architect William Bates was commissioned to renovate the building, then little more than a forlorn barn, into a Shingle Style cottage. By 1912, 4 Valley Rd. had become the official headquarters of Lawrence’s many and varied real estate endeavors.
After 19 years of maintaining a second Bronxville office at 89 Pondfield Rd., which Houlihan Lawrence obtained through its acquisition of Miller Real Estate, the relocation of Houlihan Lawrence corporate employees to Rye Brook freed the space necessary to unite the company’s entire brokerage team under one roof.